The African Development Bank (AfDB) is a regional multilateral development finance institution established to contribute to the economic development and social progress of the African countries that are the institution's Regional Member Countries (RMCs). The AfDB was established following an agreement signed by member states on 14 August 1963 in Khartoum, Sudan, which became effective on 10 September 1964. The AfDB comprises three entities: the African Development Bank (AfDB), the African Development Fund (ADF) and the Nigeria Trust Fund (NTF). As the continent's premier development finance institution, the AfDB's mission is to help reduce poverty, improve the lives of Africans and mobilise resources for the continent's economic and social development. The AfDB's headquarters are officially located in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire.

The AfDB hosts a number of trust funds. Trust funds are important vehicles for channeling concessional development finance. The current portfolio of trust funds supports country-level operations, emergency response, knowledge initiatives, advisory services and collective action in the Bank's regional member countries (RMCs) on the priorities of the Bank and its development partners. Trust funds not only leverage development assistance to RMCs, they are also important vehicles for the Bank's engagement in a wide range of strategic partnerships.

Trust fund resources finance a wide range of projects and activities at sub-national, national, regional and continental levels. The Bank's role and responsibilities in the management of trust funds vary according to the type of fund. In exercising its responsibilities as trustee, the Bank complies with all applicable sanctions for African Development Bank transactions.

This site was created to streamline the process of launching and receiving submissions for calls for proposals from the African Climate Change Fund and the Bank's Resource Mobilization and Partnership Department.

Sign Up